AMERICAN PUBLIC GARDENS ASSOCIATION
2020 VIRTUAL CONFERENCE
JUNE 25 - JULY 9 2020

Virtual Conference FAQ

This is where you can find useful tips and helpful information regarding the Association's first-ever virtual conference! We look forward to you joining us as we explore this exciting, new frontier together. Feel free to contact us at info@publicgardens.org or 610-708-3010 if you can't find the answer to your question here. 

 

What happened to the in-person event in Portland, Oregon?

On April 7 of this year, the Association announced that it had officially cancelled the in-person 2020 Annual Conference in Portland, Oregon. This decision was reached after a great deal of discussion and thought with the Portland partners and community, and was made to protect the safety of members, staff, hosts, and all involved given the uncertain circumstances surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic. This information was sent to all of our members through various communication streams (including email) and included details for those who had already booked their flights and hotel rooms. The Association also announced that it had made new arrangements to hold a virtual conference in its place, and plans to host another in-person event in Portland at a future date. We love you Portland!

 
When will the 2020 virtual conference take place?

The 2020 Virtual Conference will take place during the below dates and times. Please note that June 25th is free for all Association Members to attend though pre-registration is still required (scroll further for more details).

Thursday, June 25 
3:00-5:15p.m. (ET) / 2:00p.m.-4:15p.m. (CT) / 1:00p.m.-3:15p.m. (MT) / 12:00p.m.-2:15p.m. (PT) 

Tuesday, June 30
1:00-5:00p.m. (ET) / 12:00p.m.-4:00p.m. (CT) / 11:00a.m.-3:00p.m. (MT) / 10:00a.m.-2:00p.m. (PT) 

Thursday, July 2
1:00-5:00p.m. (ET) / 12:00p.m.-4:00p.m. (CT) / 11:00a.m.-3:00p.m. (MT) / 10:00a.m.-2:00p.m. (PT) 

Tuesday, July 7
1:00-5:00p.m. (ET) / 12:00p.m.-4:00p.m. (CT) / 11:00a.m.-3:00p.m. (MT) / 10:00a.m.-2:00p.m. (PT) 

Thursday, July 9
1:00-5:00p.m. (ET) / 12:00p.m.-4:00p.m. (CT) / 11:00a.m.-3:00p.m. (MT) / 10:00a.m.-2:00p.m. (PT) 

Check out the full schedule here for the full listing of sessions, presentations, speakers, and descriptions! Please note that all of the times on our website are in Eastern time.

 

How much will the virtual conference cost?

The cost for Association Members to attend is $100 (USD) and $150 (USD) for Non-Members. After June 19th, this pricing increases to $125 (USD) for Members and $175 (USD) for Non-Members.

 
What does this price include?

The above pricing is per person and includes access to all virtual sessions and presentations ocurring over all five days of the virtual conference as well as to the recorded sessions after the fact.

 
Can I Buy a One Day Pass?  

The 2020 Virtual Conference only accommodates full registrations, and we are unable to offer one day passes. June 25th, our free day for all Association Members to attend, is the only single-day option we currently offer.

 
How do I sign up to attend the events on June 25th only?

Those interested in registering for this free day ONLY will have a separate registration link provided at a later date- please stay tuned!

 
How do I sign up to attend the Full virtual conference?

Registration is now open! Those registering for the full conference will have access to all virtual events, including June 25th, by registering as usual with no additional action needed. Visit 2020.publicgardens.org/2020-conference-registration to sign up.

 
Can I sign up myself but then share access details or my computer screen with others?

No. For cost and experience purposes, we ask that individual staff at our member organizations use the honor system and purchase a registration for themselves alone and avoid sharing access with fellow colleagues who have not paid to attend. We sincerely thank you for your understanding and cooperation in these efforts.

 
What if I experience technical difficulties during the virtual conference?

Don't panic! Due to the nature of virtual events, we fully expect that will be there questions and various technical issues throughout the conference. The Association plans to have pathways in place in order to assist any attendee or presenter who may experience unforeseen issues accessing the conference. More information on this coming soon! 

 
What are the Association's refund policies for this event?

All refund or cancellation requests must be made in writing to the American Public Gardens Association.

Refund Schedule:

5/25/2020-6/24/2020: The Association will refund registration fees less a $25 processing fee. 

After 6/25/2020: There are NO REFUNDS available after the conference starts. Since all registrants will have access to recorded sessions after the conference, there will be no refunds given for technical difficulties encountered during the conference’s livestreams.  

 
Who can I contact if I have further questions about the refund policy?

Please direct all questions regarding payment to Kate Tyrawski, Director, Operations, at 610.708.3012 or ktyrawski@publicgardens.org

 
Who can I contact if I want to become a Member?

For membership information, visit our website or feel free to contact Jamie Recio, Member Development Manager, at 610.708.3014 or jrecio@publicgardens.org. (To receive the discounted rates, membership dues must be received with or prior to your registration.) 

 

Who can I contact if I have further general questions about the virtual conference?

Feel free to contact us at info@publicgardens.org or 610-708-3010 if you can't find the answer to your question here.

 

Thank you for stopping by! we look forward to seeing you (virtually) soon.